January 12, 2021 – The Fourth Judicial District Attorney and three El Paso County Commissioners confirmed their Oath of Office during a ceremony on Tuesday, January 12, at Centennial Hall.

El Paso County Chief Public Information Officer, Ryan Parsell, welcomed the limited in-person audience and emceed the Ceremony. Following the welcome remarks was the formal Presentation of Colors by the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office Color Guard, the singing of the National Anthem, Pledge of Allegiance, and the invocation by Henry D. Allen, Jr., president of the Pikes Peak Southern Christian Leadership Conference.

Newly elected Fourth Judicial District Attorney, Michael J. Allen, was the first to take his oath, sworn in by the Honorable William B. Bain, Chief Judge of the Fourth Judicial District. District Attorney Michael J. Allen begins his first four-year term representing both El Paso County and Teller County.

Chief Judge Bain also administered the Oath of Office to three El Paso County Commissioners including newly elected Commissioner Carrie Geitner, representing District 2. Commissioner District 2 extends from east side Colorado Springs neighborhoods through Cimarron Hills, Falcon, Peyton, Calhan and Ramah which was formerly represented by outgoing Commissioner Mark Waller.

Also sworn in on Tuesday was incumbent Commissioner Stan VanderWerf, representing District 3. Commissioner District 3 includes the western portion of El Paso County including Palmer Lake, Manitou Springs, Green Mountain Falls, west side Colorado Springs and extending south to the Fremont County line.

The final Oath was taken by incumbent Commissioner Longinos Gonzalez, Jr. representing District 4. Commissioner District 4 encompasses the southern portion of El Paso County east of Highway 115 including Fort Carson, Security-Widefield, Fountain and Hanover.

Each Commissioner begins a new four-year term.

The 2021 Oath of Office Ceremony can be viewed on the County’s YouTube Channel.