The Fair Housing Act was enacted in 1968 to protect people from discrimination when they are buying or renting a home, getting a mortgage, or even just seeking housing assistance. Today there are 7 protected classes: race, color, national origin, religion, sex (including gender identity and sexual orientation), familial status, and disability. Colorado has its own Anti-Discrimination Act from 1959 that protects people on the basis of creed, marital status, ancestry, source of income, and Veteran or military status.

The El Paso County Economic Development Department is committed to affirmatively furthering fair housing within our jurisdiction, striving to create a more equitable community for all. Staff identifies areas of need throughout the community on the Assessment of Fair Housing (AFH) which is updated every five years. The current AFH was submitted in 2021 and is linked below.

HUD Service Animal Flyer
HUD Service Animal Flyer


Fair Housing Help

Need help filing a fair housing complaint? Make sure you have detailed notes including the name and address of the person(s) or organization your complaint is against, dates the alleged violation happened, and a short description of those events. The websites below can help you get started.

For more information, contact:

Randi Davis
Community Development Analyst
9 E. Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Subscribe to the mailing list for

Fair Housing updates!

Equal Housing Opportunity Logo